My 2015 Summer Reading List

2015

The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver

The Poisonwood BibleSo confession: I’ve never read this nor anything else by Barbara Kingsolver but I feel like I need to as a former English major and I think this is a good book to start with. The novel takes place in the Congo in the 1950s and is told by the wife and four daughters of a Baptist missionary. I’ve had this on my bookshelf and my to-read list since high school, so I figured it was about time to finally read it.


The Yonahlossee Riding Camp for Girls
by Anton DiSclafani

The Yonahlossee Riding Camp for GirlsMy mother got me this book for Valentine’s Day this year and I was so excited to read it but I never had the time. The story follows a 15 year old girl who attends a girls camp during the Great Depression (one of my favorite time periods to read about). The book got reviews from both ends of the spectrum; some people raved about it, some people stopped reading half-way through. Regardless, I’m still excited to check it out and see how it turns out.


The Silver Star
by Jeannette Walls

The Silver StarI love love love Jeannette Walls. I read The Glass Castle back in high school and immediately fell in deep with her writing. This book tells the story of two sisters who leave home and end up finding out more about their parents’ lives. As Walls moved from writing memoirs to novels, I hope her style of writing small towns and complex characters stayed the same.

 

Quiet by Susan Cain

Quiet

Out of every book on my list I am most excited to read this one. Typically my usual book-buying process consists of walking around the store picking up books until I have a pile I can no longer carry, and then buying two or three that I desperately need to read immediately. This book almost didn’t make the cut but on the last minute I decided it was something different and would read differently than a novel. Quiet talks about how introverts are undervalued in today’s society where extroversion is considered the norm. I already watched Susan Cain’s TED Talk: The Power of Introverts and was already blown away.

A Sense of the World by Jason Robert

A Sense of the WorldI’ve been drawn into travel writing as a genre since I studied abroad last spring because it almost satisfies my itch to keep traveling. This book tells the true story of John Holman, a little-known blind traveler in the 19th century. I’m extremely intrigued by how much of this book will be imagery and how much will rely on other senses.

 

Royal Wedding by Meg Cabot

Royal WeddingOk so I may have already started this book. And by started I mean finished. I had a vision of myself reading this while lounging on a beach somewhere which honestly was unrealistic because I finished the day after I bought it. I started reading the Princess Diaries series when I was 12 so there was no way I was not going to read the newest book. The story starts off on the premise of planning Mia and Michael’s wedding, but in true Princess Diaries fashion, a dozen other problems arise.

This is just my start-up list; depending on how many of these I actually get through, I may add more. If I’m truly inspired, I may even review some of these, so watch out for those!

One thought on “My 2015 Summer Reading List

Leave a Reply

