London is Calling and I Must Go.

London is Calling

I leave for the UK tomorrow.

Right now I’m sitting on my living room couch watching That ’70s Show.

Procrastination is really my strongest quality.

Everything about this trip has been last minute. I booked my plane ticket, my train tickets, and hostels last minute. I still haven’t packed yet, probably because my laundry is still sitting in a pile in front of my washing machine. I still need to print out my tickets and confirmation numbers, make copies of all my important documents, call my bank, and all the other technical stuff I have to do before I leave for the airport.

I’m a planner. I like to lay out everything I need to do on graph paper with colored pens but when it comes to executing these plans I need some practice. I’m the type of person that likes to map out where I’m going but it’s ok if I end up straggling along the way. I’ve scheduled my three weeks by making sure my train tickets and bus tickets were all lined up, booked hostels in each city, and poured over guide books and websites. I know once I get there I’ll probably be spending most of my time wandering around with a list of three or four or five places to check off and getting lost on the way there.

My tour of the United Kingdom combines popular destinations as well as small towns, with a mixture of visiting old friends and traveling on my own. I’m visiting:

  • London
  • St Andrews
  • Windermere
  • Leeds
  • Nottingham
  • Colchester
  • Cambridge
  • Cardiff, and
  • Bristol.

I’ve spent a semester studying abroad in London, and while I was there I spent time in Edinburgh, Brighton, Oxford, Bath, and Pembrokeshire, so for this trip I wanted to hit new and less popular spots this time around. On the top of my list when deciding where to go was the Lake District because I didn’t get a chance to go last year.

I’m excited. I’m looking forward to thinking day to day and breathing in new atmospheres and changing my perspectives.

Leave a Reply

