UK Trip Week Two: Edinburgh, St. Andrews, the Lake District, and Nottingham

serendipity

Being in St. Andrews for the weekend allowed my friend and I to take a day trip into Edinburgh. I had already visited Edinburgh about a year and a half before and immediately fell in love so I was thrilled to be able to visit again.

IMG_1328
“The View from Edinburgh Castle” Copyright 2015 Cecelia Baltich-Schecter

We spent the day in Edinburgh visiting the must-see sights like Edinburgh Castle and the Royal Mile. We ate lunch at the Candy Bar, a funky and inexpensive restaurant that had the best burgers and cocktails. We also visited the Elephant Cafe and the National Museum of Scotland.

IMG_1356
“Saint Andrews” Copyright 2015 Cecelia Baltich-Schecter

Sunday morning we got brunch and headed for three hour walk along the coast of St. Andrews. We later treated ourselves to afternoon tea at the St. Andrews golf course.

IMG_1375
“Waiting for the Train in Glasgow” Copyright Cecelia Baltich-Schecter

Monday morning my friend was back in London and I left for the Lake District, but spent about 4 hours in Glasgow waiting for my train. I didn’t get the chance to do much beside walk around, but I made sure to put it on my list for places to visit.

IMG_1381
“Lake Windermere” Copyright 2015 Cecelia Baltich-Schecter

After a day of train rides I was finally in Ambleside! The Lake District has been on the top of my travel bucket list for about two years before I finally got the opportunity to venture there and it did not disappoint. At halfway mark through my trip, I pretty much already decided that this was going to be the favorite region I visited and I was already making plans to go back.

The hostel I stayed at was right along Lake Windermere, I had a picturesque view from my bedroom window. I spent my first night there walking along the tip of the lake trying to see how far I could get before it got dark. On the second day I hiked up to Easedale Tarn in Grasmere, then spent a few hours in the small town before heading to Dove Cottage and the Wordsworth Museum.

IMG_1591
“Walking along Nottingham Castle” Copyright 2015 Cecelia Baltich-Schecter

After a few days in Leeds visiting some friends from camp, I spent the weekend in Nottingham. I loved being in a city rich with literary roots and an artistic vibe. While I was there the Nottinghamshire festival took place during the city centre and I probably ate my weight in the local foods. I also had about four cups of tea a day considering I was just getting over a nasty cold I picked up during my last night in Ambleside. But the cold disappeared just before I was heading off to Cambridge, which will be featured in my next post!

For more about my UK trip see also: week one

3 thoughts on “UK Trip Week Two: Edinburgh, St. Andrews, the Lake District, and Nottingham

Leave a Reply

