UK Trip Week Three: Cambridge, Colchester, Cardiff, and Bristol

9

I left Nottingham Sunday morning in the midst of the Robin Hood 5k and a cup of tea in hand and headed for Cambridge. Cambridge had been on my travel bucket list for a while so this was on of the first places I booked.

IMG_7159
“Cambridge University” Copyright 2015 Cecelia Baltich-Schecter

I arrived in Cambridge Sunday afternoon and spent the majority of time walking around and taking photos of buildings, my usual default mode. Unfortunately all the universities were closed to visitors since it was move-in weekend, but that didn’t stop me from getting as close as I could to rod-iron fencing and jutting my camera between the bars.

I ate dinner at a place called Clowns Café which had some of the best gnocchi I’ve ever had. The owners were from Italy and the place was covered in photos of clowns, and it was sprinkled with people studying and working on homework.

IMG_1629
“Colchester Park” Copyright 2015 Cecelia Baltich-Schecter

I headed for Colchester the next day and stayed at my first Airbnb ever. It was nice to have my own room after staying in hostels the whole time. I was afraid being in someone else’s home was going to weird me out, (I can get pretty shy and quite, especially around new people) but it was fine and normal.

Colchester was kind of a random spot for me to visit, I went there on a whim. This trip was a mixture of hitting the sights I wanted to see but never got around to during my time abroad, but also visiting less-traveled places as well, and Colchester fit nicely into that category.

IMG_7182
“Chips instead of Mash” Copyright 2015 Cecelia Baltich-Schecter

Eating has always been one of my favorite things to do while traveling, so after visiting some shops and Colchester Castle and Park, I hunkered down in a pub with my steak and ale pie and Kopparberg cider and realized I was just starting my last week in the United Kingdom.

IMG_7201
“Headlights” Copyright 2015 Cecelia Baltich-Schecter

From Colchester I headed in the complete opposite direction and headed for Cardiff. I’m not much of a sports fan and I mistakenly didn’t do my research beforehand so upon checking into my hostel I realized that I was in Cardiff for the one of the Rugby World Cup games. Unfortunately that meant everything was pretty crowded

IMG_1691
“Inside Castell Coch” Copyright 2015 Cecelia Baltich-Schecter

I’m not much of a sports fan and I mistakenly didn’t do my research beforehand so upon checking into my hostel I realized that I was in Cardiff for the one of the Rugby World Cup games. Unfortunately that meant everything was pretty crowded, so I headed to the outskirts of Cardiff to Castell Coch.

Castell Coch was one of my favorite parts of the whole trip. A renovated medieval castle turned museum, Castell Coch basically looked exactly as I would imagine. It was a lot smaller than I expected a castle would be but I still spent hours walking around the entire grounds. I got a free audio guide which talked about the history of each room and different technology or appliances of the time.

IMG_7342
“The View from Cabot Tower” Copyright 2015 Cecelia Baltich-Schecter

After Cardiff I headed to Bristol to stay with another friend from camp. In Bristol we did a lot of walking and managed to climb up Cabot Tower which had 360 degree views of the entire city. The photo above was the only photo I managed to take up there before my phone died. Sometimes that feels like a blessing because I get to take a break from looking through a camera lens or phone screen and get to be in the moment without feeling pressured to take a photo.

It was a jammed packed three weeks. If you’re interested you can read about week one and week two.

Leave a Reply

