NaNoWriMo: To-Do List and November Goals

nanowrimo-2

This time next week I’ll be a jumbled mess of excitement, anticipation, anxiety, doubt, and stress as I dive into writing a blank novel in the name of NaNoWriMo.

If you haven’t heard of NaNoWriMo, it’s when aspiring and long-time authors come together and spend the month of November putting aside all inhibitions and attempting to finish a 50,000 word novel in 30 days.

This will be my third time seriously attempting NaNo, with my first time never making it past 25k (I was 15 at the time so I’ll consider this a feat), and with my second time crossing the 50k finish line but never actually finishing the novel (college finals got in the way). Based off these statistics it looks like I have a 50-50 shot of winning this year but I’ve already convinced myself this year is a winning year.

Since it’s my first year out of college and I’m currently without a job, I’d figure this is the perfect time for me to focus on my writing again. I haven’t really worked on anything more than a couple exercises since the spring, so NaNo will really push me to spend ample amounts of time writing everyday.

I basically decided on doing NaNo last November, but did I manage to come up with a plot or even any characters or basic ideas? Of course not.

The days leading up to November 1st will probably be the most stressful as my to-do list swells with both writing and non-writing related tasks.

So far, the list looks like this:

  • Name and sketch a basic idea of characters
  • Develop a setting
  • Brainstorm some major plot points (I have a general idea of what I’m writing)
  • Write the most basic outline possible to keep myself on track
  • Stock up on some snacks

Basically the only thing I have done is complete my to-do list. And make my Pinterest inspiration board but like, going on Pinterest usually ends up being less productive than I always convince myself it will be.

Even if I don’t end up writing a novel I will want to work with and revise, hopefully it’ll help me get my creative juices flowing again and get me back into the habit of writing daily.

My goals for the month, both NaNoWriMo related and otherwise, vary intensely:

  • Obviously come out with a 50,000 word thing (novel or almost-novel) by December 1st
  • Don’t go more than 1 day without writing (because realistically I will miss a day at some point)
  • Read during writer’s block to get inspiration
  • Try not to reread what I’ve already written (this will be excruciatingly hard for me to do)
  • Don’t self-edit, self-doubt, or self-critique anything! (This will also be difficult)
  • Keep up with blogging (in the early phases of this blog, it’s been tricky trying to get blogging to stick as a habit)
  • Also try to squeeze in a daily yoga practice (to try and keep me sane)
  • Keep applying for jobs!!
  • Come out in December with at least just a few lines that resemble quality writing and something worth saving to revisit, whether it be a character, scene, plot point, subplot, one single line, or maybe even the whole story

I have my work laid out for me.

To everyone else participating in NaNoWriMo I wish you the best of luck! Let me know if you have any advice or if you would like to freak out and stress out together.

9 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: To-Do List and November Goals

  1. Hey. I’d love to be writing buddies with you. I actually need to post my own NaNo to do list on my blog. I’ve been doing tips… but I have a lot of things that I need to do to get prepared! Thank you for reminding me, and you’ve got this NaNo thing ❤

Leave a Reply

