A Sample of My NaNoWriMo Writing Playlist

nanowrimo playlist

After a busy weekend celebrating my friend’s birthday in North Carolina, I am officially way behind in NaNoWriMo. As in “I’m probably going to be pulling an all-nighter tonight to catch up” behind. So there’s that.

However, from the 6,000+ words I do have (it hurts to type that) I’ve been drawing a lot of inspiration from music. Finding new music and making mood playlists is one of my absolute favorite things and my NaNoWriMo playlist for this year is inching towards being 100 songs long.

I figured out a long time ago that I can’t write when it’s quiet. However I also can’t write with my all-time favorite song in the background because I’m easily distracted. I need to have a balance between music I know and love and music I’ve never heard of before. (Explosions in the Sky is usually my go-to writing music.)

I’m sharing a sample of some of my favorite songs that have been playing in the background of my writing and lending me a hand with moving forward in my story.

  1. Headlights, Tor Miller
  2. Boom, Laleh
  3. Goodbye, Who Is Fancy
  4. Walk Away, LANY
  5. Take It or Leave It, Great Good Fine OK
  6. Barcelona, George Ezra
  7. The Mason, Tossing Cooper
  8. Another Home, Grant Terry
  9. Flames, Cider Sky
  10. Wishing It Was You, K.Flay
  11. The Fool, Ryn Weaver
  12. The Emotion, BØRNS

Are you the type of person who needs to write with music, or in absolute silence? Do you have any song suggestions for me? I love listening to artists I’ve never heard of.

Leave a Reply

