Books I’m Saving For My (Potential) Children

(Is it cheating that I basically had this post made already on the List App?)

Anyway.

I tackled the daunting task of cleaning out my bookshelf about a month ago. Underneath my bookshelf is a chest of books I kind of forgot about (out of sight, out of mind). I piled in some books I want to keep for any children I might potentially have or might potentially develop a connection to later on in my life because these books had a big impact on me. And it’s my selfish desire to make sure that every child has the same selfish relationship to my favorite books as I do.

Books I'm Saving For My Children

 

 


Madeline in London and the rest of the Madeline series
by Ludwig Bemelmans
I still read this book now to be honest. Madeline is my heart and joy.

 

Elouise
by Kay Thompson
I loved all of the Elouise books. Who didn’t want to be Elouise and grow up in the Plaza?

 

The Boxcar Children
by Gertrude Chandler Warner
I legitimately wanted to live their life when I was reading these.

 

All dozens of my American Girl books
These were the only books I read for all of third grade. (Josefina was my favorite.)

 

Amelia’s Notebook(s)
by Marissa Moss
The original Diary of a Wimpy Kid, let’s be real. I devoured these. I’m pretty sure I started journaling because of her.

The Babysitter’s Club
by Ann M. Martin
I took these out from the town library five or six at a time. I read these well past the age I should’ve. I probably made it through almost 100 of these.


My mom’s Trixie Belden books

I hated these because they gave me nightmares (I’m a wimp) but I’d still like to hang onto them and eventually pass them down.

 

Taffy Sinclair books
by Betsy Haynes

These were published in the 80s and my cousin handed them down to me These were so fun to read and I felt special because no one else was reading them.

Falling Up and co.
by Shel Silverstein
This was one of the exceptionally “cool” books to read in school. I read all of his books over and over again.


The Alice series
by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor

These are the types of books all tween girls should read. It’s extremely age appropriate without shying away from important topics like puberty and self-care, sexuality, death, friendships and relationships, periods, sex, appearances, peer pressure, etc.

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler
by E. L. Konigsburg

This was one of my all-time favorite books growing up.

 

The Tiffany Aching Adventures
by Terry Pratchett

I think this is the only book on this list that I am not in love with, but I did like how it was a girl narrator in a typical “boy” role and genre so I’m saving it. I wasn’t really a fantasy kid so it didn’t suck me in but I didn’t hate it either.

Olive’s Ocean
by Kevin Hanks
My dad picked out two books for me for Hannukah in sixth grade, this one and The Clique. I loved them both but this one sat with me for a while. It was the first meaningful book I read that made me rethink a lot.

Perfect
by Natasha Friend
This book is incredible. A very real but also appropriate story about a girl with bulimia.

 

The Uglies series
by Scott Westerfeld

The original dystopian author and these books are unforgettable. I recommend this series to literally everyone on the planet. There’s only four of them and they’re quick reads.

Flush
by Carl Hiaasen

I remember reading this book in a day. Very “gender-neutral;” I got everyone in my family to read it and they all loved it.

Life is Funny
by E. R. Frank

I read this for the first time in sixth grade and was probably a little too young and dumb. I would probably recommend it to a fourteen year old. Some parts went right over my head. I would appreciate it more if I read it now.

Maximum Ride
by James Patterson
Obviously.

 

The Princess Diaries
by Meg Cabot

Utterly life-changing. She’s probably the real reason I’m a feminist.

 

Fullmetal Alchemist
by Hiromu Arakawa
I will force feed this to my children if I have to. This should be on everyone’s required reading list.

The Book Thief
by Markus Zusak
No one will be allowed to live in my house without reading this book first.

 

Leave a Reply

