I Am The Messenger Book Review

One of my personal goals for 2016 is to read 25 books. Although I love reading and have a monstrous bookshelf, it’s been difficult for me to find time to settle down and read.

Luckily, when I picked up Markus Zusak’s I Am The Messenger off my bookshelf I was so easily sucked in that I finished it with days.

I’ve had I Am The Messenger for the better part of six or seven years. It’s not a new book. Released in 2002 in Zusak’s home in Australia and later printed in 2005 in the US, I picked it up after reading The Book Thief and falling madly in love. I Am The Messenger is nothing like The Book Thief except for it’s wicked creativity and stunning uniqueness. I Am The Messenger

I Am The Messenger follows Ed Kennedy on his quest to figure out who is the person sending him on secret missions behind his town. Ed receives four playing cards, one for each suit in the deck, and each card has a different theme and different clues. The book is broken up into parts divided by the different cards in a deck.

From the very beginning the characters are witty, the dialogue is stellar, the mystery is suspenseful, and the action is well-paced. Zusak introduces new characters with ease throughout the novel, never seeming to forget each character that Ed interacts with. Each character’s arc is delicately woven into Ed’s life with purpose, until Ed’s missions turn from interacting with strangers to interacting with his family and friends.

Although this book is classified as Young Adult Fiction, it is so suited for adults as well, especially those of us who are trying to figure out a sense of purpose in life. The way Ed connects with strangers and reconnects back with his friends is the type of relationships we should strive to have in life.

This book is so suited for anyone who loves a little bit of suspense and inspiration without the added cheesiness. It’s very gender-neutral, and especially good for teens who may not be in love with reading (yet). The dialogue and characters are so sharp, funny, and relatable that no one should have a problem falling in love with it.

SaveSave

Leave a Reply

