My Fall 2016 To-Read List

Fall 2016 To-Read List

Operation Clean Out My Bookshelf continues almost immediately where it left off. (Whoops.) I read two books over the summer and both of them were borrowed from friends so I didn’t really make any progress towards any of the books I need to read.

Since fall is one of my favorite seasons (summer has edged it’s way into my heart) I tried to pick some autumn-y books to sink into now that I’m no longer in school. 

56443.My_Freshman_Year.jpg

My Freshman Year by Rebekah Nathan
This book was on my to-read list back in the spring and it got pushed to the bottom of the pile. Now that my brother just started his freshman year and I’m feeling nostalgic about going back to school, it might be a good time to pick it up and try again.

 

 

5308.The_Pearl.jpg

The Pearl by John Steinbeck
This play shouldn’t take me long to read at all; I’m thinking maybe finishing it in a rainy afternoon or early evening. I’m excited to read it because I like Steinbeck and I think reading plays is underrated.

 

 

12543.Bird_by_Bird.jpg

Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott
I’ve read chapters of this before out of order but never the whole thing straight through. I’m excited to read it because I’m hoping it gets me out of my weird writing rut just in time for NaNoWriMo. I’m anticipating this one also being a quick and easy read.

 

 

1886.Pride_and_Prejudice.jpg

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
Truth be told I’m not a huge Jane Austen fan, but I have two books by her on my shelf that I haven’t read yet and this is one of them. When I tried to read Emma I tortured myself halfway through it before giving up but that was also back in high school before my taste buds really matured. In college we read Persuasion and that didn’t leave a sour taste in my mouth so I’m trying again.

 

489732.The_Picture_of_Dorian_Gray.jpg

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
I love Oscar Wilde and I’m embarrassed to say I haven’t fully read this yet. I feel like this needs to be on my “read” list by now. I’m also hoping to swiftly make my way through this one before winter.

 

 

387665.The_Tent.jpg

The Tent by Miral al-Tahawy
This is a pretty physically short book but with hefty content. I’ve only had it for about a year and it’s not a book I typically would’ve bought but it was recommended to me and I’m excited to give it a try.

Leave a Reply

