Thoughts on Working With Kids

I’m at the point in my life right now where I tell people I majored in English and they ask, “Oh, so you want to be a teacher?”

πŸ˜‘

I’d rather not, thanks.

Not going to lie, I’ve thought long and hard about it. I think I would be a great teacher. I have a sense of humor, a good sarcastic voice, a stern tone but also a lot of patience, and I honestly think grading papers would be so fun! I could totally teach middle or high school.

Except I don’t know if I could deal with the bullying, bad attitudes, parents, and waking up every day and goingΒ back to school.

I don’t know, I don’t know man.

For my entire first year after I graduated, all four of my jobs have been working with kids. I totally see where everyone gets the idea that I’m going to be a teacher. I’d be a natural digression.

I enjoy working with kids. I think they’re hilarious. I think they’re sweet. They have a lot of energy, they’re surprising, they’re curious, and the young ones are still very eager to be good people. (Actually I think most of them truly want to be good people but the pressure and information bombarding them from literally every angle of society is confusing. But more on that another time.)

On Working With Kids

I have a degree in English and International Studies. I would love to eventually one day make my entire living from being a writer. I know that can feasibly not happen right now, at this point in my early professional life. So my second best thing would be to work with kids and make some money before I haul myself into a career better suited for my degrees and future.

I haven’t written off being a teacher yet. Some days I really do think I’d enjoy it. I would love to be able to teach kids some of my favorite books and help them become better communicators and see the grow up. But I also remember how poorly my peers treated own teachers and I don’t know if I built the metal exterior that teachers have at this point in my life.

I’m just a confused 23 year old who doesn’t really know what she wants just yet. In the meantime, I spending my days working with my kids and my nights wrestling with my words.

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on Working With Kids

  1. I really enjoyed this one, especially “I don’t know, I don’t know man.” It’s especially funny coming from you – seemed a little out of character but it worked. Also I really would be down to read about pressure and kids.

Leave a Reply

