NaNoWriMo Goals & Initial Thoughts

NaNoWriMo Initial Thoughts

So I originally intended for this post to be about final touches to add to my NaNoWriMo prep planning in the upcoming week before November, but let’s be real: I haven’t planned anything.

Here’s a list of things I know about my story:

  1. It’s probably more towards the YA genre on the spectrum.
  2. My main character’s name is Hannah. She’s an angsty teenager and hates life.
  3. It takes place in Cape Cod in the summer.
  4. ……

That’s about it. I’m a top-notch procrastinator so I’m not really surprised.

Last year I attempted NaNoWriMo and massively crashed and burned at a whopping 26 pages. (Fortunately, I just re-read what I wrote for the first time a few days ago and it hasΒ a lot of potential. I’m excited to revisit it in the future, so I’m not writing it off as a total fail.)

I had made a long list of goalsΒ last year that never came true off the screen. This year, I’m going to be little bit more realistic about my goals.

  • Win.

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Ok, so obviously my main goal is to wrestle my way through November with 50,000 words in attempt to call it a novel. I’m not naive to think it will be anything close to a novel. It will most likely be a jumbled mess of words trying to describe two-dimensional characters with some interesting conflicts.

I know I’m going to critique myself and self-edit. I know I’m going to go days without writing, even if it’s consecutive days without scribbling down any thoughts. I probably won’t reread what I’ve written, which will be an accomplishment.

Obviously my goals this year and last year are vastly different. I lost big time last year, and the only thing motivating me to do NaNoWriMo this year is the anticipation of forcing myself to sit down and do something I’m afraid to do every day: write.

What are some of your goals for NaNoWriMo? What are you hoping to accomplish?

One thought on “NaNoWriMo Goals & Initial Thoughts

Leave a Reply

