Last Minute Pumpkin Carving Ideas

Raise your hand if you’re a procrastinator! 🙋

I went pumpkin picking on Tuesday. I came home with three pumpkins. I did not question it.

My friend Irene and I are planning on carving these pumpkins this weekend. For the rest of you who have yet to carve your pumpkins in preparation for Halloween on Monday, here are some of my favorite ideas.

The classic Jack O’ Lantern face.
Definitely easy and recognizable, with endless ways to make the face creative and unique.

A silhouette.
Personally this is one of my favorites; it allows you to be more creative and take advantage of negative space, especially if you are planning on lighting it with candles and leaving them outside.

Your favorite characters.
This one is fun too; you can look for a stencil online to trace your favorite characters into your pumpkin.

Word play, quotes, and designs.
With this one you can come up with spooky sayings to carve into your pumpkin. If you’re already a fan of graphic design and typography this may be an easy transfer into pumpkin carving.

How did you carve your pumpkins this year? Any suggestions or tips for when I carve mine?

3 thoughts on “Last Minute Pumpkin Carving Ideas

    • You might surprise yourself. In the past I’ve done designs the kids picked that I wouldn’t have thought I could do. It takes the right tools.and some of those would be time consuming for sure.

  1. I always wait until the day before or two days before at the earliest so they don’t get shribbly before Halloween night. Once we used a dip to preserve them which worked okay. I’ve also heard of putting Vaseline on cut areas to preserve but have never tried it because we use real candles with flame & I would worry about flammability. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

