The Day Before NaNoWriMo

NaNoWrimo officially begins in 24 hours. If you’re anything like me, you’re probably questioning how you can possibly manage to win this thing and mentally beating yourself up for not preparing as much as you should’ve. Even though it’s Halloween, here are some last minute preparations you can complete today.

The Day Before NaNoWriMo

Print off a word count sheet.
I don’t know about you, but I find aΒ ton of motivation in visibly seeing how much I’ve already accomplished (and how much I have left to go). The last time I won NaNoWriMo I drew out a whiteboard on my wall with a word count bar. Every time I hit another 10% of my word count, I would color in the bar. I also would write on the word count the most words I’d written in a day and try and beat my own “high score.” Find out what motivates you and create a sheet or a board you can hang out your wall to hold you accountable.

Read some pep-talks.
The NaNoWriMo website has some great pep-talks! If you haven’t been keeping up with them go back and read some from this year or even from past-years. Start to think positively. Don’t start off the month being afraid you won’t have a chance to finish.

Take a nap and set an alarm.
Planning to start writing immediately after midnight is my favorite motivation booster. There’s nothing that crossing the imaginary starting line with a kick. In the past, when I’ve started writing immediately at midnight I’ve felt more excited about writing my novel than when I’ve put it off to the afternoon or evening on the first.

Schedule in writing time for the first week.
This is helpful to me because I don’t have a regular writing schedule (I know I should). By making sure I automatically have time to write carved into my life I’m already reinforcing the idea that I need to be writing every day.

Go to theΒ grocery store and stock up on snacks.
I love to cook and bake, but nothing is worse than having a million things to do and you have to pause everything to make dinner. Get some granola bars, cereal, bread, frozen vegetables, or whatever you consider a staple in your home. You won’t want to spend extra hours grocery shopping and cooking when you can work on writing.

Pay off your bills now (if you can).
While some of us may not have the means to pay off our bills at this moment, take an extra minute to get your expenses straightened out. With a month of writing, your other priorities may fall to the side as we forget about them. Do all the little things today so that’s one less thing to worry about in November.

Take a break.
Is there something you love to do besides writing? Hiking, sewing, baking, shopping? Get it done today. Take a break, don’t think about your novel, and get your cravings out of your system. For the next 30 days the urges to participate in a different hobby might be overshadowed by writing.

What are some other things I should do today to prepare myself for tomorrow?

Leave a Reply

