Reading Wrap-Up: February 2017

Books Bought:

  • The Underground Railroad, Colson Whitehead
  • The Interestings, Meg Wolitzer
  • Big Little Lies, Liane Moriarty
  • We Are Called to Rise, Laura McBride
  • Six of Crows, Leigh Bardugo
  • Crooked Kingdom, Leigh Bardugo
  • The Hate U Give, Angie Thomas
  • We Should All Be Feminists, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • Maximum Ride: The Manga #9, James Patterson and NaRae Lee
  • The Last Runaway, Tracy Chevalier
  • A Thousand Splendid Suns, Khaled Hosseini
  • Fates and Furies, Lauren Groff

Books Read:

  • Hatchet, Gary Paulsen
  • Maximum Ride: The Manga #9, James Patterson and NaRae Lee
  • We Should All Be Feminists, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • Ten Years in the Tub: A Decade Soaking in Great Books, Nick Hornby (unfinished)
  • Hidden Figures, Margot Lee Shetterly (unfinished)
  • Brian’s Winter, Gary Paulsen (unfinished)

[In the process of writing my March wrap-up I realized I never posted February, so alas here it is.]

How did I manage to buy twelve different books in the span of 28 days? February is supposed to be the shortest month and I managed to drop an ungodly amount of money on just chunks of paper. I hate myself.

I finished Hatchet on my lunch break while I was subbing for a P.E. class one day. I probably could’ve finished the book in maybe a hour of two tops, but it’s the perfect size to fit in my purse so I read a chapter or two on my breaks at work. Once I finished reading Hatchet, I made the executive decision to start Brian’s Winter next; it’s the “what-if” ending to Hatchet that was written after the other books in the series were. I figured I’d rather read the “fake” ending first, before I continue on with the rest of the series. I’ve been recommending Hatchet to any twelve year old boy who comes into Barnes and Noble looking for a new series. (Listen, sometimes I think people get turned off by the sheer amount of pink spines in the children’s department. Who wants to read a book that resembles one of those jumbo lollipops? I sure don’t.)

I’ve been treading my way though Ten Years in the Tub and I only have about 60 pages left. Could I have powered through those 60 pages just to say I finished a solid four books in the month of February? Probably. Did I? Of course not. There’s nothing like not managing to miss your criteria for the month by just a few inches. (My monthly goal is to read four books a month so I make it to fifty books read by the end of the year. I’m only five books behind schedule. nbd.)

I read We Should All Be Feminists the same night I bought it (shout out to short essays. Should I even count this as a book? Is that cheating?). Honestly, it was straight-forward, short, easy to read, and sketched out the skeleton of feminism. I wish I had read it earlier in life, like maybe when I was thirteen. At twenty-three, I was not illuminated by anything Adiche had to say in her essay, maybe because I agreed with her a little too easily. Her essay did peak my interest to read more of her work, especially more of her non-fiction work as well. (Note: I read this about a month before Adiche’s comments on trans women so I’m writing this based on the thoughts I had during February 2017, at the current time of reading her piece.)

I have been following the Maximum Ride series for about eleven years now, which is basically my whole independent life. The manga is a slow and steady contribution to the series that follows the plot almost perfectly, snatching direct quotes from the book. The ninth one came out about a year ago, but I could never find in a bookstore so that led me to believe I had been imaging the ninth book the whole time. I finally ordered the book and it arrived in Barnes and Noble just in time for me to buy another three books along with it! (The ship-to-store function of ordering books at Barnes and Noble is tricky because I started using it a lot since I’m there all the time and you don’t have to pay for shipping and it usually arrives faster than if you shipped it to your home. BUT since I’m already buying one book, why don’t I just add a few more to that purchase??? I end up coming home with another three extra books AKA what happened when I bought The Last Runaway, A Thousand Splendid Suns, and Fates and Furies. The last two were books I had been meaning to read for some time now, but you know, I just had to buy them that very day.) Anyway, the Maximum Ride manga never fails to make me squeal and squirm with excitement as my favorite bird freaks live out on the pages in front of me. The ninth one takes place in book five, right when things are FINALLY steaming up with Max and Fang.

I bought Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom in a box set to read at the same time as my friend. I’ve seen the series all over the Internet, and the covers are gorgeous so it just immediately makes you want to read it. However, I am not a huge fan of fantasy. Teen fantasy especially makes me really nervous because I never seem to enjoy the books as much as they’re hyped up to be. Teen fantasy series are even worse because I tend to read the first one, love it, then wait a few months for the second one, like it but not as much as the first one, and then drop the series without finishing it out because I’m waiting to long for the next book and lose interest. I figured a duology that’s already complete would be the best bet for me. Reading it with a friend will hold me accountable to actually making sure I’m powering through it.

My goal for the month of March is to not by a single book, and to finish both Ten Years in the Tub and Hidden Figures. A hefty goal, but I think I can manage.

Leave a Reply

